Outings

03Jun09

I try to get out of the house, by myself, once a day.  It hasn’t happened every day but I do make it out several tims a week.  It might be a quick trip to the grocery store, Target or just for a quick walk around the clock with Heidi….whatever it is, it helps me stay sane.  I love my little girl more than anything but I do need time to myself, alone!

I had a doctor’s appointment yesterday and as I sat in the waiting room I thought how funny it was that a trip to the doctor’s, which is usually a chore, is now a welcomed outing.  I am getting together tonight with girls from my old book club.  One of the girls I’ve known since intermediate school and college although we didn’t really becoe close friends till we ended up at the same job after college.  I haven’t seen her in at least two or three years.  I’m so looking forward to a few hours out of the house in the company of girl friends.

Breastfeeding has to be the more humbling experience ever.  Not only is it challenging physically it also ties you to the baby.  She needs to eat every two hours during the day so that seriously hinders where I can go and for how long.  Yes, its two hours from when she starts to eat.  Ack!

The lil girl is now sleeping in her crib in her own room this week and its helped all of us sleep better.  She can go three to four hours between feedings at night so I’ve been able to sleep more.  P handles the first feeding around 2 or 3 am so that allows me to sleep till K wakes up for her early morning meal anytime from 5am to 7am.  I still can’t really nap during the day.  Its hard for me to fall asleep.

After K gets her shots at her two month appointment, I’ll feel more comfortable taking her out.  We’ve already made trips to Target, the park, etc but being in smaller closed in places with lots of people still has be a bit antsy.  Shhhh, I haven’t told my overprotective mom that I’ve taken K out to so many places.  She thinks we should both just stay home till she’s had her shots.  That’s nuts.  She was freaking out when I drove to my two week appointment cause she thought that I couldn’t drive so soon after a C-section.

Okie, I hear the lil peanut stirring from her nap so I’ve gotta run.  Type to ya later!

One Response to “Outings”

  1. 1 Jean

    Yay for outings by yourself! Technically, you are not supposed to drive until you get the OK to do so at your 2 wk appointment – that being said, I drove to mine both times. =)


Leave a Reply

